November SST: Timekeeper (Review + Giveaway!)

Sunday, November 27, 2016
Timekeeper by Tara Sim
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Steampunk/LGBTQIA+
Page Length: 368 pages
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Publication Date: November 8, 2016



About Timekeeper (via Goodreads):

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.


REVIEW

Timekeeper by Tara Sim was an extremely delightful and imaginative book. Sim's writing style was particularly beautiful—it was so rich and vibrant that I was captivated from page one to the very end.

The world and world-building was probably the strongest aspect of  the book. Timekeeper was absolutely brilliant and definitely had one of the most unique worlds/concepts I've ever read about. From tracing back to the mythology of time every few chapters to the detailed descriptions of how time functions, how timekeepers' powers work, and the lives of the clock spirits, I felt truly transported into the world.

Danny may not have stood out to me as a protagonist overall, but he was an admirable and lovable character that I just wanted to give a hug constantly throughout the book. What struck me the most about him was how real and relatable he was. And yes, this did stand out to me more than other protagonists of other books. He was flawed, but he was a good person. A lot of characters seem to always know what to do in any situation, but he didn't and he realized it. And I kind of loved him for that. Were there times when I wanted to hiss at him to stay focused? A few. But did I still love him anyway? Absolutely.

I felt like a lot of the characters were pretty much secondary. Although some played more pivotal roles than others, the focus was mainly on Danny. Which I'm fine with, but I would have enjoyed diving deeper into some of the other characters' personalities and histories. Sim did briefly touch on a lot of their backstories, but I would have liked to see more interactions between them.

Speaking of interactions, I'd like to talk about the romance. I thought Danny and Colton were ADORABLE together, and I wanted them to be happy and unhurt and never live in fear and have a happily ever after, but at the same time, it didn't quite work for me. I loved Colton, and I know as a clock spirit he didn't have many opportunities to explore and grow since he was stuck in his tower for who knows how long, but I disliked his lack of a history. A lot of the faith that I put into my OTPs has to do with the couple's individual personalities, pasts, and growth, and that was hard to see in Colton (and thus their relationship).

Overall, I really enjoyed Timekeeper. While some minor characters fell flat for me, I believe there are so many opportunities for them to become stronger as the series progresses and Tara Sim already has a great foundation for that development. In addition, there were so many other amazing details throughout the book. Sim's writing was absolutely exquisite and her world-building was equally as extraordinary, and I cannot wait to see what she will explore in the rest of the series.

My Rating: 3.75 stars





About the Author:


Tara Sim can typically be found wandering the wilds of the Bay Area, California. When she’s not chasing cats or lurking in bookstores, she writes books about magic, clocks, and explosives. TIMEKEEPER is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter at @EachStarAWorld, or check out her website tarasim.com for fun extras.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


2 comments :

  1. I agree that the world-building was the strongest part of the book. And I wish there was more to Colton too! He felt quite thin as a character, especially considering that we learned quite a bit about Danny's fellow mechanics/competitors. Great review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I wasn't very excited for this book but I'm feeling way more pumped for it now! Great review!

    xx Anisha (https://sprinkledpages.blogspot.com.au)

    ReplyDelete